School Council

Our School Council is made up of parents, teachers, the school principal, staff and community representatives.  This collective supports and enhances our students' learning.  Our School Council has three main responsibilities:

  • finance: overseeing the development of the school's annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept
  • strategic planning: participating in the development and monitoring of the school's strategic plan
  • policy development and review: developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect our school's values


Key functions of the school council include:

  • raising funds for school related purposes
  • maintaining school grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts
  • reporting annually to the school community and the Department
  • creating interest in the school in the wider community
  • representing and taking the views of the community into account
  • regulating and facilitating after-hours use of school premises and grounds
  • operating a children’s out of school hours care service at the school


The 2021-2022 School Council membership is:


School Council President: Simone Holding
Vice President: Jo Bowers
Treasurer: Fleur Dow



   Events Bec Powers (Convenor), Pip Peddington-Webb, Karent Gordon-Clark
   Buildings and Grounds Jo Bowers (Convenor), Simone Holding, Mike Hubbard, Nicole Arold, Karen Rush
   OSHC Jo Williams (Convenor), Sally Emery, Skye Hardman
   Finance Raelene Danaher (Business Manager and Convenor), Karen Rush, Simone Holding, Fleur Dow, Nicole Papagoras


Our School Council meets twice each term on a Tuesday evening. 


If you would like to contact the Council for any reason:

send an email to the school,, and write School Council in the subject line OR

send an email to the School Council President, Simone Holding, on 

© 2020 Yarraville West Primary School The sponsor-ed Group